Barack Obama, Electric Cars and Little Red Riding Hood

Okay, now that I have your attention, I know you’re wondering what do Barack Obama, electric cars and Little Red Riding Hood have to do with one another?

Well, Barack Obama wants all of us to drive electric cars, right?

Little Red Riding Hood was going to Grandma’s house, right?

So …

How are we … all of us driving Barack’s electric cars … going to get to Grandma’s House … if she happens to live more than 60 or 100 miles away … and get back in the same day so we can go to work tomorrow … considering we go to Grandma’s on Sunday and it takes 8 to 10 hours to recharge our nifty electric cars … and we still have a job to go back to on Monday?

The reason I’m asking is because one of my grandmothers lived about 100 miles to the south … and the other lived about 100 miles to the east. So, the “hypothetical” isn’t really hypothetical but based on an actual case in point.

Contrary to popular belief, at least those espoused by people like Ward Churchill, all Southerners aren’t the results of inbreeding for generations within the confines of a single county’s boundaries. Some have actually attended a college or two and may have, heaven forbid, actually married someone from college … or … another state, or even from a large metropolitan city like … Atlanta … or even someone from Florida. Everyone with an ounce of sense knows that Florida has been inundated for years by retired union employees from up North and rich Yankees. Maybe those are the groups that Churchill keeps referring to. If that’s the case, Churchill’s rantings actually make a little sense.

Well, back to the point …

How are all of us going to get beyond the restriction of the 30 to 50 mile radius of electric cars?

Just wondering.

Fortunately for Little Red Riding Hood, Grandma only lived a short walk through the forest inhabited by the Big Bad Wolf. Maybe Señor Obama is secretly investing in Nike or Adidas … you know … hiking or jogging shoes. No … that couldn’t be it, because according to his financial information released for his presidential campaign he didn’t have a retirement plan or 401(k) and his current economic flailings aren’t consistent with anyone who gives a rat’s ass about the stock market … or any market for that matter. Well, maybe his buddy, George Soros, is investing in Nike or Adidas … you know … the hedge fund guru he went to see in New York two weeks before he announced his candidacy.

George Soros … the Big Bad Wolf … an interesting analogy. So what does that make Barack Obama … the Wolf’s pimp? Just a thought …

I wonder if I should change the title … you know … “Barack Obama, Electric Cars, Little Red Riding Hood and George Soros, the Big bad Wolf” … or … delete Obama’s name and put “The Pimp” in its place.

Did I just have a “fugue” … or a session of “free association”?

I think I’ll end on that.

11 Responses

  1. Everything dynamic and very positively! 🙂
    Thank you

  2. Great site this ebfromga.wordpress.com and I am really pleased to see you have what I am actually looking for here and this this post is exactly what I am interested in. I shall be pleased to become a regular visitor 🙂

  3. Did you know that George Soros would not be a multi-billionaire if it were not for the international language Esperanto?

    Born in Hungary in 1930 as Gyorgy Schwartz, the family changed its name in 1936 to Soros, which in Esperanto means “to soar.”

    The Soros name-change was an effort to protect the Jewish family from the rise of fascist rulers and the whole family spoke Esperanto at home.

    As a native Esperanto speaker, (someone who has spoken Esperanto from birth), George Soros defected to the West in 1946, while attending an Esperanto youth meeting in Vienna.

    Esperanto enabled Soros both to defect, and to become the 28th most wealthy man in the World, according to the Forbes rich list.

  4. I forgot to add that I think my electricity rates are based on predominantly coal generated electricity. There may be some natural gas generation.

    So the added cost of either wind or solar power have to be considered. Neither of these are considered, as far as I can ascertain, economically feasible in the Southeast. We don’t have enough average sunlight like the Southwest or enough areas with a minimum sustained wind speed.

  5. “cloud9ine”,

    My apologies for calling you an ass and a prick … but you did call me a skeptic, dumb and biased. I prefer realist and pragmatic to skeptic and biased. Dumb is open to debate and basically relative.

  6. “cloud9nine”,

    I read your article and it’s interesting. I can picture what they’re talking about.

    It’s sort of like reversing the copper lightening strike dispersal plate on a sailboat. That plate is a copper mesh about an inch thick and a foot square to keep the lightening voltage and amperage from being concentrated and literally blasting a hole in the boat.

    It makes sense. They’re reversing the process to speed the charge into the battery. Of course, all of this would be nearly microscopic in a battery.

    The 180 Kwatts to charge an electric car battery in five minutes is what gets me. Imagine concentrating all of the electricity that you might use on two or three summer days with the A/C going into a five minute flow. That would be impressive. Did I mention a lightening strike? Just kidding … maybe.

    Agassi insinuated that the cost of replacing batteries and recharging them would be about half the cost of a tank of gasoline. I wonder. Check how much you pay for electricity in your area. It will be in cents per kW hour. I think if you multiply that by 180 you’ll get the cost of a recharge.

    Mine was a little over $0.10/kWh for February so a recharge should be about $18 … per 100 miles.

    My car burns premium ($1.95/gal last refill) and I get about 28 mph on the road. That’s about 3.57 gal/100 miles or about $6.96 for gasoline/100 miles compared to $18 for the electricity … for me. Around town I get about 19 mpg which is 5.26 gal/100 miles or $10.26 for gasoline/100 miles of in town driving.

    Of course, that’s using these high flow batteries so it could be less with more conventional Li-ion batteries. No one has told us how much less except for Agassi’s estimate and we don’t know what that’s based on.

    I can see where this makes sense in Europe where they’re used to paying more than $5/gal. for gasoline.

    I appreciate your information.

  7. “cloud9ine”,

    To the contrary, I want it to progress and become a reality. I just want everyone to consider all of the ramifications like what the batteries will cost, what the electricity will cost and how it will be produced and what are we going to do with all of those batteries … issues which no one seems to be addressing … as well as how long it will take for these cars to become a practical reality. Those are my points.

    If you read some of my other posts, you will see that I’m an advocate of passenger rail which could solve some of the short term problems … a more viable Manhattan project … so to speak.

    I guess my point is, we keep taking a personal transportation approach when better mass transportation may be the only real solution, especially for a country as large as ours. That’s my belief.

    Think about this. Why drive your electric car across country stopping every hundred miles to change a battery or charge up when you could load it on a “cartrain” and take it with you … and use less energy?

  8. Oh well – it is not your analysis that rubs me the wrong way. It is the tone and obvious bias.

    http://www.propeller.com/story/2009/03/16/researchers-say-9-second-charging-battery-coming-in-2-years/

    agreed – 9 seconds gives u only enough charge for a AA cell But with the attitude and you and other people who refuse to face reality, this technology will not be allowed to progress to a stage where it is viable.

  9. And, by the way, I’m just guessing, but I would imagine that a lithium ion battery large enough and powerful enough to power an automobile would probably cost “at least” what a modern automotive engine costs … or around $8-10 thousand. With a fairly limited number of recharges compared to a lead acid or nickel cadmium battery, that’s going to be a fairly expensive predictable replacement cost.

  10. for “cloud9ine”:

    I always love compliments, thank you.

    Let’s see … Denmark … that’s a “little” country in Europe (16,640 sq. miles) slightly more than half the size of South Carolina (32,020 sq. miles). I suppose I am “dumb and biased” regarding ideas being implemented in Denmark and not exactly time tested.

    And no, I’m not familiar with recent advancement in battery technology that will charge a battery in nine seconds. And yes, I am a little skeptical of that one, especially the amperage, voltage and safety involved in pushing the electricity required to run an automobile at 60 mph for an hour or hour and a half into a battery at that speed. Frankly, it sounds like something being struck by lightening. I’ve studied physics and majored in chemistry, not that that matters, but there are some physical laws, not theory, that govern such activity. So, skeptical … yes.

    I do know that the lithium ion battery in my cell phone charges quickly compared to those of years ago, but a cell phone battery doesn’t compare with a battery to start a car which doesn’t compare to the battery it would take to run a car.

    In fact, the latest advance in electric cars that I heard about was on tv several weeks ago and the makers were bragging that the car would run 100 miles between charges which would take 8 to 10 hours. So, that’s my source of information. Maybe you should enlighten that electric automobile manufacturer and tell him how dumb he is … as well as the several thousand people who have pre-ordered his car. Just a thought …

    By the way, you didn’t mention the cost of this “replace your almost empty battery. And you didn’t mention how heavy these batteries are … or how much they cost.

    Since you didn’t provide any sources, I found several:

    Mapping a Global Plan for Car Charging Stations

    and

    Merc exec: Battery replacement plan for Agassi car is hazardous

    Several points:
    1. I tend to agree with the Mercedes exec. haveing changed a few batteries in my day. It can be very dangerous.
    2. Cars in the 1950’s would go a lot farther than 100 miles. Those 100 mile trips one way to Grandma’s were round trips without filling up. Mr. Agassi needs to check his facts.
    3. The Denmark station is a prototype … not a chain.
    4. Even Mr. Agassi’s vision is long term … 10 years or more (2020), not around the corner.
    5. I can’t find anything about a nine second battery recharge so if you have a source …
    6. My gas breaks are longer than 9 seconds and it will take longer than 9 seconds to get to any battery, so don’t be an ass. And I tend to drive 200 to 300 miles before stopping … for the record … if the trip’s that long.

    And I’ve been studying batteries for a long time … you prick!!

  11. Beyond being skeptic, dumb, and biased, I am also assuming you have not heard of two things.

    1. Agassi’s replace-your-almost-empty-battery-for-a-full-one stations idea being implemented all over Denmark.

    2. recent advancement in battery chargig tenoloy that allows you to safely charge in ‘9’ seconds. I am assuming your gas breaks total more than that

Leave a Reply

